Upward Bound Central Campus

Upward Bound Highlights

photo of many student sitting around a statue

The summer component focuses on academic skills and comprehensive test preparation for six-weeks. Students will also have the opportunity to attend educational and cultural field trips to various colleges, universities and museums.

The Upward Bound staff serve as role models and mentors to our students. They have established a very close working relationship with community agencies, target high school principals and personnel. They also work with parents through home visits and parent meetings.

 

Check out UB Newsletters Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Upward Bound Services

  • Academic classes in basic skills (Reading, Math, English/Writing, Study Skills, Science, Life Skills)
  • Tutoring in areas where assistance is needed
  • Career development activities and career exploration
  • Participation in cultural enrichment activities
  • Individualized assessment, educational planning
  • College credit courses for seniors during the summer component
  • Community resource referral services

 

a group of students gathered outside at Central

 

Who is Eligible

Students in the target area high schools are eligible for Upward Bound if they:

  • First generation college students
  • Enrolled in 9th or 12th grades 
  • Meet federal income guidelines
  • Students with academic potential/need

 

Our Staff

OFFICE NUMBER:  713.718.6388

Arthur Valiant, Director

arthur.valiant@hccs.edu

 

Tscherina Telesford, Assistant Director

tscherina.telesford@hccs.edu

 

Juan Perez, Advisor, Pathways & Case Management

juan.perez@hccs.edu

 

Monique Howard, Advisor, Pathways & Case Management

monique.howard@hccs.edu

 

Teresa Alvarado, Administrative Assistant

teresa.alvarado@hccs.edu

 

Alicia Alvarado, Office Assistant

alicia.alvarado1@hccs.edu

 

 

Semester Schedule

Fall and Spring Schedule

     Saturdays:  8 a.m. - 4 p.m. *

     * Dismissal time may vary depending on activity

     

Summer Schedule: 

     Monday - Friday:  8 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. **

     ** Dismissal time on Friday may vary depending on activity

     Wednesday Tutorials:  7 p.m.

Contact

HCC Upward Bound Central

1300 Holman Street, Suite 107, Houston, TX 77004